New Karen Party Seeks Official Registration

The newly formed Karen National Party (KNP), based in the Irrawaddy Delta region, elected its leadership committee following a public meeting on April 27 at Pay Taw village, Wakema Township – more than 200 people attended the public meeting.

The KNP is now seeking to get official registration with the Federal Electoral Commission.

Mahn Kyaw Nyein, KNP organiser said that the party would now go through the official registration process to enable it to run in future elections. The KNP organisers are expecting to start its registration process in May.

“The 15 party [KNP] leaders have been elected, as required by the Federal Electoral Commission, if the registration process is a success we will continue to work on finding a party chairperson, forming an executive committee and go about gathering party members.”

Mahn Ye Min Htwe, a organiser of the KNP, explained to Karen News the new party’s aims.

“The Karen National Party will be established with the aim for working for equality and self-determination for Karen people, to cooperate with other ethnic nationalities for a genuine democratic federal union, to protect the Karen people and to retain the rights.”

The 15 new elected party leadership committee are: Mahn Thein Shwe, Mahn Kyaw Nyein, Mhan Min Ye Htwe, Nant Shu Aye Klane (Yangon division); Saya Saw Joseph, Mahn Htein Win Maung, Mahn Htein Win Sein from Pantanaw township, Mahn Win Htay, Mahn Ohn Maung from Kyaunggon township, Mahn Aung Myint, Mahn Aung Phone Han from Einme township, Mahn Aye Khaine, Mahn Kyaw Aye from Wakema township (Irrawaddy); Saw K’ Paw Moo from Bago township and Nant Khwa Nyo from Twantay township.

Prior to the election of the 15 party leadership committee, the KNP members held a series of events and public meetings throughout townships in the Irrawady Delta and the Rangoon Divisions.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button