By-election Shows Good Perspective as Ethnic Parties Win in Ethnic Areas

November 3rd by-election expressed good perspective in the ethnic constituencies where ethnic political parties gained seats, responsible persons from Karen People’s Party (KPP) and the Karen National Party (KNP) told Karen News.

“People’s trust gradually falls back upon the two major parties. The ethnic peoples understand well that they must take hold of their opportunities as well as their rights. So, they do not depend upon the major political parties. This is good tendency,” the chairman of the KPP Saw Say Wah told Karen News on 5 November.

The ethnic populations do not take into account their causes as they desired for political change and cast their votes to the most powerful party. But now, they consider deeply of the political matters as they see the changeability of politics, Saw Say Wah added.

The National League for Democracy (NLD) has contested in all 13 vacant constituencies and won in Myingyan and Tamwe constituencies for People’s Parliament. It also won in Oat-twin, Minbu, Thabeitkyin and Kanpetlet constituencies for Regional Parliaments respectively. Additionally, the NLD won the seat of Shan Ethnic Affairs in Mandalay Division, according to the Union Election Commission.

Moreover, the Union Solidarity and Development Party won the National Parliament seat for Constituency (2) in Kachin State and Regional Parliament seats for Tamu and Yangon Seitkan (2) Constituencies.

Similarly, Shan National League for Democracy (SNLD) won the seat for People’s Parliament in Lechar Constituency in Shan Stae. The Chin League for Democracy (CLD) party won the seat for Chin State Parliament and the individualist U Tin Maung Win won the seat for Rakhine State Parliament respectively, the UEC declared.

The current government launched two by-elections on 1st April 2017 and 3rd November 2018. In 2017 by-election, the NLD won 9 out of 19 seats and the SNLD won 6 seats while USDP won 2 seats. Likewise, the Arakan National Party (ANP) won a seat and the All Nationals’ Democracy Party (Kayah State) won a seat respectively in 2017 By-election.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button